Sign up for VMSPACE, Korea's best architecture online magazine.

Login Join

The Establishment of the 6th Presidential Commission on Architectural Policy

etc.Jul 07, 2020

On May 19, the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport announced the launch of the 6th Presidential Commission on Architectural Policy to oversee national building and urban policy. The Commission is a presidential establishment based upon the Framework Act on Building, and consists of 11 official members and 19 members from the across the private sector. The main task of the commission is to suggest new directions for architectural policy and to deliberate and adjust the policies of related ministries.

This commission pursues policy continuity by taking over the incumbent 5th commission’s major tasks, such as reforming the construction system, improving the administrative system, and revitalising residential policy, improving the building permit system and the methods by which they are ratified, promoting the integrated design of urban architecture, and leading regional development projects. It plans to promote policies aimed at improving the quality of social overhead capital. Park Insuk (professor, Myongji University), who served as the chairman of the policy coordination section in the previous tenure, was appointed as the sixth chairman to administer this policy. Kang Miseon (professor, Ewha Womans University), Kang Yerin (professor, Seoul National University), Kim Jeongim (principal, Seoro Architects), Park Cheolsoo (professor, University of Seoul), Lee Kwanghwan (principal, Haeahn Architecture), and Chun Sookhee (co-principal, WISE Architecture) were all appointed as members from the private sector.  

Eight members of the 5th Presidential Commission on Architecture Policy reappointed again, and seven non-metropolitan experts and eight female members were selected in an attempt to promote regional balanced development and gender equality. Former committee members include ministers from the Ministry of Economy and Finance, Ministry of Education, Ministry of the Interior and Safety, Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Ministry of Environment, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport, Ministry of SMEs and Startups.

‘We will produce more substantial and concrete results’, Park Insuk asserted, presenting their goal under ‘Good Architecture, Open City’. The term of the 6th Presidential Commission on Architecture Policy will extend until May 18 2022.